Inserting Authorization

Sep 3, 2009 at 5:31 PM
Edited Sep 3, 2009 at 6:52 PM

Hi ,

I just started learning azman today .Please forgive me if my questions are immature.

Question 1 :

I am trying to Add DB users to Role Authorization from the code using the stored procedure netsqlazman_AuthorizationInsert.

Where do i get the following information?

ownerSid - Is like a unique identifier for each application ? where do i get it from for my application ? . When inserting through the interface i see one created for my application

ownerSidWhereDefined - where do i get this info?

objectSidWhereDefined - When inserting through the interface i see a value of 4 where do i get the other values

AuthorizationType - where can i get this info? 

Is there a function the Azman dll to insert authorizations?  Which i can use? However that also might need these above mentioned information.

Question 2 )

I have a role called Members and need to add users to this role dynamically from my code .I think I can achieve it in 2 ways

a)       Create a Application Group  and add the group to the Role Authorization through the NetsqlAzman console and then add users to that group through  code using [dbo].[netsqlazman_ApplicationGroupMemberInsert]

b)      As mentioned in question 1 can add user to Role authorization using netsqlazman_AuthorizationInsert.

Which one is a better approach? Please suggest. If I go with approach a) do I have to do anything other than [dbo].[netsqlazman_ApplicationGroupMemberInsert] ?

What is dbo].[netsqlazman_StoreGroupMemberInsert] used for do I need to consider this

Thanks! in advance

Regards

Joseph

Coordinator
Sep 3, 2009 at 6:56 PM

Hi,

you can find all you need inside the NetSqlAzMan Guide.pdf.

This is an example of how use the NetSqlAzMan_AuthorizationInsert:

DECLARE @RC int

DECLARE @ItemId int

DECLARE @ownerSid varbinary(85)

DECLARE @ownerSidWhereDefined tinyint

DECLARE @objectSid varbinary(85)

DECLARE @objectSidWhereDefined tinyint